new year, new band, new album…

I’ve spoken a little bit about the bryan helm / dave stafford album, which was started in 2011 and recently, the music for it was completed – and now, it moves to the mixing stage – and bryan and I are both pleased with how the music is developing so far.  we are very excited about this release, not only because it’s the first new work we’ve done since 1997, but because it’s also a new musical/ambient style for us (which, if I were pushed to give it a name, I might dub “dense ambient” for lack of a proper genre name that suits it), and the work sounds distinctly different to any previous projects involving bryan and myself.

I am here today, however, to formally announce another project, a brand new collaborative effort by drummer/percussionist extraordinaire john orsi (knitting by twilight) and myself. ian stewart, of AUTOreverse fame, introduced john and I late last year, and we began discussions then regarding a possible collaboration.  as time went on, we decided on a time frame (first quarter 2012 to begin the work) and at this point, we are having further discussions about the nature and direction of the work, as well as practical considerations.

I know I can speak for both of us when I say we are both very much looking forward to this collaboration, ian Stewart pointed out to us that we both make music with a similar quality, and over the past few months, I’ve realised just how right he was to say that – and I am sure I can speak again for john and myself when I thank ian for suggesting that we work together – the discussions john and I have had reveal that musically we have very similar experiences and goals, and I find it very easy indeed to strike up a creative and collaborative environment between us, within which to create music.

so as well as the helm/stafford album, we are planning on at least one album from this new band (no name has appeared yet for either band, but they will in time), who knows, maybe more but we’ve committed to making one – so that is where we are beginning.  the initial discussions are going well, and very soon, we will sit down to begin writing and sketching, seeing where the music takes us.  this is a very exciting project for both of us, and a chance to expand our individual creativity into a new collaborative venture – and I am personally particularly excited, because over the past 12 months, we’ve added instruments and functionality to the studio that should really allow me an enormous range of musical possibilities – and, being freed from the responsibility of providing any percussion for the work (that’s john’s department) leaves me completely free to concentrate on what I love the most – guitars, synths, melody, harmony, ambience, atmosphere…music.

I’d also like to take a moment and say how much I’ve been enjoying  john’s recorded work, in particular I’ve spent a lot of time listening to his most recent album, “weathering”, which I cannot recommend highly enough – it’s very enjoyable, as is the entire “knitting by twilight” catalogue, so I absolutely urge you to have a listen to the music of john orsi and “knitting by twilight”.

of course, as the sessions for the new album progress, we’ll keep you posted on our progress and provide any details about this exciting new collaboration as we are able.

so the orsi /stafford album is officially underway !

d ~~~

Please leave a reply.

